2nd phase polls | Key Updates


Voting for the second phase of elections in 95 parliamentary constituencies spread in 11 States and one Union territory began at 7 am.

Voting in five constituencies of Assam — Diphu, Karimganj, Silchar, Nagaon and Mangaldoi — got under way at 7 am. Enthusiastic voters in large numbers were seen queuing outside polling booths to exercise their franchise.

Voting at many polling stations was either delayed or the exercise began late following glitches in EVMs and VVPAT machines.

Polling has been by and large peaceful in Assam so far.

Dilip Saikia, BJP candidate for the Mangaldoi Lok Sabha seat, gets emotional after casting his vote.

It’s a bright and sunny day in Silchar. Hope people will come out in large numbers as they already are to exercise their franchise, said BJP candidate from Silchar, Dr Rajdeep Roy, after casting his vote.

Diphu: BJP candidate Harensing Bey and Congress candidate and sitting MP Biren Sing Engti have also cast their votes.

Rupak Sarmah, BJP candidate from Nagaon, has also exercised his franchise. He is locked in an electoral battle with Congress’ Pradyut Bordoloi.

Sitting Silchar MP Sushmita Dev, who is also the party candidate from the seat, casts her vote.

“My job now is to pray, yours to speculate or do the math,” Sushmita Dev tells reporters before exercising her franchise.

A voter in Sipajhar under Mangaldoi Lok Sabha constituency came to the polling booth riding a horse.

Estimated polling percentage in five constituencies of Assam at 4 pm

#Diphu – 64%; #Silchar – 67%; #Karimganj – 68%; #Nagaon – 67%; #Mangaldoi – 69%; Average turnout – 67%

Voting officially ends at 5 pm.

Estimated 73% turnout in five seats in Assam. Official election commission figure awaited.