Tripura Election Result: BJP crosses halfway mark, leads in 31 seats


BJP clocked a lead of 31 of 60 seats as royal scion Pradyot Kishore’s TIPRA Motha party climbed ahead in 12 seats in initial trends. The Congress-Left alliance’s lead has fallen from 19 to 15 seats.

 Tripura CM Manik Saha won by a margin of 832 votes, defeating his nearest rival of Congress Ashis Kumar Saha

Security has been tightened in Tripura in light of the counting of votes cast during the elections, and security forces are carrying out mobile patrolling. Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Gitte Kirankumar Dinakarrao said that the counting is taking place at 21 locations and the trends are expected to be clear around noon after 5-8 rounds of counting.

Union minister Pratima Bhowmik is fighting from the Dhanpur constituency in the Sepahijala district. CPI(M) state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury is contesting from the Sabroom seat. Follow our live blogs on election results in neighbouring Meghalaya and Nagaland, and an overview of results from all three states.