Election Results 2022: Counting of votes underway in Manipur, Uttar Pradesh and 3 states


Guwahati: The Assembly Election results for Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Uttarakhand and Punjab will be declared today.

The counting of votes has begun at 8 a.m with postal ballots while the counting of electronic voting machines (EVM) commenced at 8.30 a.m.

In the five states mentioned above, elections were held in 690 Assembly constituencies.

On February 28 and March 5, elections for the 60-member Manipur Assembly were held in two phases.

Earlier, on the eve of result day, Manipur CEO Rajesh Agrawal informed that counting will take place in 41 halls spread across 12 centres in the state.
Counting for 41 seats will be done in the first round following which the remaining 19 seats will be taken up.

A total of 265 candidates were in fray in the polls of which 60 were from the BJP, 53 from the Congress, 38 from the NPP and 10 from the NPF among others.

The fate of 265 candidates vying for the 60 Assembly seats in the state will be known by afternoon.

Meanwhile, considering multiple reports of violence during the voting process, security measures are of paramount importance as the counting of votes began this morning.

The BJP formed the government in Manipur in 2017 with support of the National People’s Party (NPP), Naga People’s Front (NPF), and the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), but this time it has decided to contest all 60 seats, solo.