BTC Election: UPPL to field candidates in 40 constituencies


GUWAHATI: Urkhao Gwra Brahma-led United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) will field candidates in 40 constituencies for the upcoming Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election. The decision was announced by party spokesperson and BTC’s leader of opposition Rwngwra Narzary on Tuesday.

“People want changes. The next government in BTC will be formed by the UPPL,” said Rwngwra Narzary.

On the other hand, Narzary criticised BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary for not attending the last day of Interim Budget session of BTC. UPPL leader Narzary said that the people had bid farewell to Mohilary and he would never come again to BTC secretariat.

Rwngwra Narzary also claimed that it was because of the dissidence within the party which had forced the BPF to release its list of candidates in a hurry.

Narzary informed that UPPL would decide its strategies for the BTC election at its convention to be held at Chirang’s Bijni on February 21 and 22.