Assam: Congress leader Ripun Bora files nomination for Rajya Sabha bypolls


Guwahati: Congress leader Ripun Bora on Monday submitted his nomination papers for the upcoming Rajya Sabha bypolls in Assam.

Ripun Bora had previously held the post of President of the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee from 2016 to 2021.

Bora was accompanied by Raijor Dal and Sivasagar MLA Akhil Gogoi, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee Debabrata Saikia and other opposition party leaders. 

The voting for 13 Rajya Sabha seats across six states is scheduled to be held on March 31. These include three seats from Kerala, two from Assam, one from Himachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Tripura each. Apart from this, five seats in Punjab will fall vacant on April 9 as the members will retire.