Assam by-polls: BJP leaves Gossaigaon, Tamulpur to UPPL


GUWAHATI: In the soon-to-be-held by-polls for Assam Legislative Assembly the Bharatiya Janata Party will leave the Gossaigaon and Tamulpur seats to its ally United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL). Tamulpur constituency MLA Leho Ram Boro and Gosaigaon constituency MLA Majendra Narjari had died recently.

In the midst of BJP-UPPL working out a formula the Assam Congress is thinking of going alone to the polls.

Briefing the media on Tuesday, BJP National General Secretary Dilip Saikia informed that in the coming by-polls UPPL will contest from Gossaigaon and Tamulpur. Rest of the four seats will be contested by BJP.