Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2022: Voting for final phase underway


Guwahati: The 7th and last phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2022 covering 54 seats, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s parliamentary constituency Varanasi is underway.

The phase of polling will decide the fate of 613 candidates.

Voting has begun at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm in Jaunpur, Ghazipur, Azamgarh, Mau, Chandauli, Bhadohi Varanasi, Mirzapur, and Sonbhadra districts.

Voter turnout of 8.58 % has been recorded till 9 am.

The highest percentage was recorded in Mau at 9.99 %, followed by Jaunpur (8.99%) and Varanasi (8.93%).

In this phase, 11 seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes and two seats are reserved for Scheduled Tribes. There are a total of 2.06 crore eligible voters.

Polling on these 54 seats will mark the end of the almost month-long voting process in the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh that began on February 10 after the announcement of the election in mid-January.

The counting of votes will be held on March 10.