Union Minister Kiren Rijiju wins Arunachal Pradesh West seat for 4th term


As anticipated, Union Earth Sciences Minister Kiren Rijiju has successfully retained his Arunachal Pradesh West seat for the 4th term securing over 180189 votes.

3-time MP from Arunachal West seat, Kiren Rijiju retained his seat by defeating former Arunachal Chief Minister and State Congress President Nabam Tuki with a huge margin of 88098 votes.

Minister Kiren Rijiju has won the seat in 2004-09, 2014-19 and 2019-23.

In 2014, Rijiju was inducted into the Narendra Modi Cabinet as Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs.

In 2019, he became Minister of State (Independent Charge) Youth Affairs.

In 2021, he was made the Cabinet Minister for Law and Justice and later he was moved to Union Minister of Earth Sciences.

The battle for the Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat was indeed one of the high-profile contests in the electoral history of the state.

It was a big upset for veteran Congress leader Nabam Tuki, who also happens to be the sitting MLA of Sagalee constituency as he was determined to push through challenges to the end even as it was widely expected that Kiren Rijiju would be able to hold onto his seat.