Tripura Covid curfew extended till 9 July; Know what’s open and closed


GUWAHATI: The Tripura government on Saturday extended the ongoing Covid curfew from 2 pm to 5 am in Agartala and 8 other urban local bodies till July 9. However, night curfew has been lifted from the villages.

Besides Agartala, restrictions have also been imposed in the municipal councils of Ranirbazar, Udaipur, Kailashahar, Dharanagar, Khowai, Belonia, and nagar panchayats of Jirani and Panisagar.

“The COVID curfew will remain in force in the jurisdiction of Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and eight other ULBs till July 9,” the notification issued by Chief Secretary Kumar Alok said.

As per the order, shopping malls and market complexes will remain closed at all times and bazaar committees shall deploy volunteers to ensure strict adherence to social distancing.

Vehicles can only ply between 5 am and 2 pm for essential purposes. However, vehicles ferrying medical supplies will be allowed to ply even after 2 pm.

There shall be a total ban on the movement of individuals between 2 pm and 5 am except for prescribed exemptions.

The order further stated that all government and private offices shall remain open till 4 pm with 50 per cent attendance.

The COVID curfew in the urban local bodies was scheduled to end on July 2, the restrictions were first imposed on May 16 and has been repeatedly extended since.