Tokyo Olympic star Lalremsiami to lead FIH Women’s Junior World Cup


Guwahati: Tokyo Olympic star Lalremsiami from Mizoram was on Monday named captain of the 18-member Indian junior women’s hockey team, which will compete in the FIH Women’s Junior World Cup South Africa 2021, beginning December 5.

Lalremsiam was also a part of the Indian senior women’s hockey team which finished fourth at the Tokyo Olympics. 

The event will witness 16 top teams from across the globe battle for the title which was previously won by Argentina in 2016. While the 21-year-old Lalremsiami will captain the squad, defender Ishika Chaudhary will shoulder the responsibility of vice-captaincy.

“To pick the final selection of 18 players was extremely difficult especially as all 28 players in the Core Probable Group worked very hard in the past months and made good progress,” Chief Coach Women, Janneke Schopman said in a release issued by Hockey India (HI).

“But we feel that we have selected a strong team that is able to compete with every team at the Junior World Cup. With the experience from the Senior team and some great young talent we will show the best India has to give. The team is very excited as they have waited a long time to compete at the world stage and we’re looking forward to making the most of this great opportunity,” Janneke added.

India’s best performance in this prestigious event came in 2013 where they won the bronze medal after beating England. India, who are grouped in Pool C, will begin their campaign on December 6 against Russia.

They will take on defending champions Argentina on December 7 in their second match in the round-robin league, followed by a clash against Japan on December 9.

The knockout matches will take place between December 10 and December 16.

India Squad: Lalremsiami (C), Ishika Chaudhary (VC), Bichu Devi Kharibam (GK), Khushboo (GK), Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Priyanka, Marina Lalramnghaki, Ajmina Kujur, Baljeet Kaur, Reet, Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Salima Tete, Sharmila Devi, Beauty Dungdung, Deepika, Mumtaz Khan, Sangita Kumari, Jiwan Kishori Toppo.