T20 World Cup: PAK thrash NZ by 7 wickets, reach finals


Guwahati:  Pakistan came up with a complete batting performance, led by Babar Azam (53) and Mohammad Rizwan (57), to defeat New Zealand by 7 wickets in the semi-final to enter the T20 World Cup final for the third time. They will now take on England or India in the final on Sunday.

Earlier, an unbeaten half-century by Daryl Mitchell, guided New Zealand to 152/4 after 20 overs, against Pakistan in the first semi-final match of the ongoing T20 World Cup, at Sydney Cricket Ground on Wednesday. Opted to bat first New Zealand lost early wickets as Finn Allen and Devon Conway departed early.

Later, Glenn Phillips and Kane Williamson were dismissed before Mitchell smashed his fifty in 32 balls. For Pakistan, Shaheen Afridi scalped two wickets while Mohammad Nawaz scalped one wicket.