ST Status: Centre constitutes 5-member GoM


The central government has constituted a five-member Group of Ministers (GoM) under the chairmanship of Assam Finance, Health & PWD Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma to look into modalities to implement the constitutional amendment bill to award tribal status to six communities of Assam — Matak, Moran, Chutia, Koch-Rajbangshi, Tai-Ahom and the Adivasi/Tea Tribes.

While Chandan Brahma has been named convenor of the GoM, Naba Doley, Topon Kumar Gogoi and Pallab Lochan Das have also been included as members.


Incidentally, Himanta Biswa Sarma had on Saturday announced about the Centre’s decision to constitute the GoM after a meeting with Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh. The Union Home Minister chaired a meeting with Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Finance, Health & PWD Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma Himanta Biswa Sarma, BPF leader and BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary and Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimari at his office residence in the national capital and discussed the developments arising out of the Centre’s decision to go ahead with the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, the NRC update process and the Government giving a green signal to award tribal status to the six communities of Assam.