Salhoutuonuo Kruse creates history, first woman elected to Nagaland assembly takes oath


Salhoutuonuo Kruse, one of the first woman elected to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly, took oath as a minister at a swearing-in ceremony in Shillong in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday The National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate from Western Angami seat defeated Keneizhakho Nakhro, an independent candidate, by only seven votes.

Besides Kruse, Hekani Jakhalu, another NDPP candidate, from Dimapur-III constituency also won the February 27 election for the 60-member assembly. The poll results were announced on Thursday.

Salhoutuonuo Kruse, a local hotel owner, contested against Keneizhakho Nakhro, an Independent. Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio had campaigned for Kruse.

Since Nagaland got its statehood in 1963, it was yet to get a woman MLA in the 60-member assembly. Not that women has not contested for election but they have never been voted to power. This year, the four women candidates who contested elections are Jakhalu, Kruse, Rosy Thomson of the Congress and Kahuli Sema of the BJP.