Rajiv Kumar appointed as new Election Commissioner of India


NEW DELHI: Former finance secretary Rajiv Kumar has been appointed as the new election commissioner of India on Friday. Kumar will take charge the day Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa leaves his office on August 31. The outgoing Election Commissioner is joining Asian Development Bank as its vice president.

Mr Kumar is a retired Indian Administrative Service officer of the 1984 batch from Jharkhand cadre.

“The President is pleased to appoint Shri Rajiv Kumar… as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office vice Shri Ashok Lavasa, Election Commissioner, who has resigned with effect from August 31, 2020,” the Law Ministry said in a notification.