Parimal Suklabaidya wins from Dholai


Guwahati: BJP candidate Parimal Suklabaidya has has claimed victory in the Dholai constituency.

Parimal Suklabaidya iwas contesting from Dholai for the 7th time on a BJP ticket. He has been elected as an MLA in 1991, 2001, 2006, and 2016.

In the previous election, he wrested the seat from Congress that had fielded Girindra Mallik. While Mallik had trounced Suklabaidya in the 2011 polls by 14,370 votes, 2016 witnessed the BJP candidate defeating him by a huge margin of 26,837 votes.