Panel finalises Assam Accord’s Clause 6 report


GUWAHATI: The high-level committee on the implementation of Assam Accord’s Clause 6 has finalised its report today. The committee headed by former Gauhati High Court judge Biplab Kumar Sarma finalised its report at a meeting held today at Assam Administrative College.

All the members of the committee signed the final report.

The high-level panel will submit the report to the central government within February 15.

The committee comprises of chairman Biplab Sarma, Ramesh Borpatragohain, Subhash Das, Arunachal Pradesh advocate general Niloy Dutta, retired IPS officer Pallav Bhattacharya, retired professor Srishtidhar Dutta, author-columnist Sumanta Chaliha, professor Jaikanta Sharma, journalist Wasbir Hussain, besides Samujjal Bhattacharya, Dipanka Nath and Lurinjyoti Gogoi, the top leadership of AASU.

Earlier, addressing the mega rally at Kokrajhar on February 7, prime minister Narendra Modi said that Clause 6 of the historic Assam Accord would be implemented soon.