Northeast India’s 8 teachers conferred with National Teachers’ Award today; check names here


GUWAHATI: On the occasion of Teachers’ Day, eight teachers from across the Northeast have been awarded the prestigious National Teachers’ Award for their contribution in developing innovative methods of teaching today. President Ram Nath Kovind felicitated Ram Nath Kovind felicitated 44 teachers across the country including Two Teachers from Assam, Two from Sikkim and One from Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura.

List of awardees from Northeast :

Swedesunuo Zao, Head Teacher GMS Jakhama, Nagaland
Ningmareo Shimray, Lecturer Ukhrul Higher Secondary School, Manipur
Prem Das Chhetri, Teacher Sir T N Sr. Sec. School, Gangtok, Sikkim
Mingma Sherpa, Head Teacher Lum Primary School, Sikkim
Jacinta Vanlalengzami, Head Teacher A and M Grandchild School, Mizoram
Sib Sankar Pal, Head Teacher Pandabpur High School, Tripura
Kangkan Kishor Dutta, Teacher Bamunpukhuri High School, Assam
Binanda Swargiary, Teacher K B Deulkuchi, H S School, Baksa, Assam

The national-level awards are given on Teachers’ Day to celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest teachers in the country and to honour those who, through their commitment, have not only improved the quality of school education but also enriched the lives of their students.