New COVID19 SOP: Seven districts in Assam declared full containment zones


GUWAHATI: The fresh COVID19 SOP – Standard Operating Procedure – for Assam will be released today. A total of seven districts have been declared as full containment zones.

These districts will remain closed for seven days. Goalpara, Golaghat, Jorhat, Sonitpur, Biswanath, Morigaon, Lakhimpur have been declared as full containment zones as the COVID19 cases are not declining.

Assam health minister Keshab Mahanta stated this through a press conference in Guwahati.

These restrictions will remain in place till 13th July, stated the minister.

“The cases are increasing mostly in villages and tea garden areas,” said Keshab Mahanta. “We are trying to vaccinate people from tea garden areas on a fast mode,” stated Mahanta.

The COVID19 positivity rates: Golaghat 5.64%, Jorhat 4.36%, Morigaon 3.26%, Sonitpur 3.01%, Biswanath 2.92%, Lakhimpur 2.68% and Goalpara 1.79% . Total cases remain the main focus for these districts said the health minister.

Essential services will remain open in these zones.