Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2023: CM Zoramthanga loses from Aizwal East-1 seat to ZPM’s Lalthansanga


The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) secured majority in the Mizoram Assembly on Monday, winning 25 of the 40 seats and leading in two others as votes were being counted, according to the Election Commission (EC).

Chief Minister Zoramthanga lost the Aizawl East-I seat to Lalthansanga of Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) by 2,101 votes, as votes were being counted for the Assembly elections in Mizoram on Monday, according to the Election Commission (EC). Earlier in the day, the ZPM crossed the halfway mark (15 wins and 12 leads).

Deputy CM Tawnluia also lost to ZPM candidate W. Chhuanawma in the Tuichang seat by a margin of 909 votes. Health Minister R. Lalthangliana was trailing in the South Tuipui seat, and ZPM candidate Jeje Lalpekhlua was leading. ZPM’s CM candidate Lalduhoma was leading in the Serchhip seat.

Zoramthanga had won this seat twice in 2013 and 2018 and has been the Aizawl East-I MLA for 10 years.

The person who defeated the 79-year old veteran is ZPM’s Vice President Lalthangsanga a former MLA who won the Assembly polls in 2008 to 2013. Born on January 9, 1963, the big slayer is a resident at Aizawl’s Zarkawt locality.

A former Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) leader. He was the vice president of MPC. He quit the party in 2019 and join the ZPM.
Lalthansanga wanted MPC to merge with ZPM.

MPC president Lalhmangaiha Sailo was opposed to the merger as the party was formed by his father and former chief minister Brig. Thenphunga Sailo.

The prominent ZPM winners include the party’s CM face Lalduhoma who bagged the Serchhip seat by defeating his MNF rival J Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng by 2,982 votes.

Originally scheduled for December 3, the counting day was rescheduled to December 4. The Election Commission, in an official notification, cited the receipt of “several representations from various quarters” within Mizoram as the driving force behind this decision. The representations collectively requested a revision of the counting date from December 3, 2023 (Sunday), to another weekday. Chief Electoral Officer Madhup Vyas said that the poll body agreed to the request as “Sunday was devoted to church duties and prayers.”