Manipur: Massive setback to Biren Singh govt as 9 MLAs withdraw support


As many as nine MLAs have withdrawn their support from the BJP-led coalition in Manipur on Wednesday.

4 NPP MLAs, 3 BJP MLAs, 1 TMC MLA and an Independent MLA have withdrawn their support from the Government bringing it to a minority.

As per latest reports, all the 9 MLAs have extended their support to the Congress in the State.

Among the NPP MLAs who have withdrawn support are Y Joykumar Singh, L Jayentakumar Singh, Latpao Haokip and L Kaiisi.

The BJP MLAs who withdrew support are S Subhaschandra, T Haokio and Samuel Jendai.

Besides this, TMC MLA T Rabindro and Independent MLA Asabuddin also withdrew their support to the ruling government.

With this the numbers in the ruling BJP camp has come down to 22.

Meanwhile, the Congress and allies’ numbers will rise to 26 in the assembly with support from these 9 MLAs who have withdrawn their support from the N Biren Singh-led coalition.