Manipur Elections: Campaigning for phase 2 nears end as parties give their final push to woo voters


Today is the last day of campaigning for the second and final phase of polls in Manipur.

With this political parties are wrapping up their campaign trails.
In Phase 2 of Assembly Elections in Manipur, 22 seats spread over ten districts will go to the polls on Saturday.

A total of 92 candidates including two female candidates are contesting for 22 seats in the second Phase.

On this note, sitting BJP MLA and candidate from Lilong constituency, Yumkhaibam Antas Khan held a major election meet today.

The election meet was held at Lilong Haoreibi Mayai Leikai where Khan made a last attempt to reach out to the voters.

Khan is pitted against Congress candidate Syed Anwar Hussain and JDU’s Mohammad Abdul Nair among others.

Noteworthy here is that the Lilong seat is the only constituency in Manipur where all the candidates are from the Muslim community.

The second phase of the Manipur Assembly Elections will be held on March 5.

Voting for phase 1 took place on February 28 under tight security cover in 1721 polling stations spread across five electoral districts. For the first phase, 38 seats were in fray.

The counting of the votes will take place on March 10.