Mandate 2024: BJP retains Arunachal with 2/3rd majority; ruling SKM annihilates SDF in Sikkim


GUWAHATI, June 2: The ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh won a thumping victory winning 46 seats in the 60-member assembly while the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), an ally of the NDA and a constituent of the North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA), scripted history by winning 31 seats in the 32-member Assembly with the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) reduced to a single seat.

In Arunachal Pradesh, Pema Khandu is poised to take oath as Chief Minister for the fourth straight term. The National People’s Party (NPP), an ally of the BJP in Meghalaya but contesting the hustings in Arunachal Pradesh separately, won 5 seats, the NCP won three, People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) two, Congress one and Independents winning the remaining three seats.

Incidentally, 10 BJP candidates, including Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein, were already elected unopposed, giving the BJP a big shot in the arm ahead of the elections held on April 19.

In Sikkim, the SKM bettered its 2019 tally of 17 seats as the SDF, which had been in power for five straight terms, was reduced to only one seat.

Among the prominent losers include former Sikkim chief minister and SDF supremo Pawan Kumar Chamling who lost both the Poklok Kamrang and Namcheybung assembly constituencies he had contested.

Former captain of the Indian football team Bhaichung Bhutia lost from Barfung.