Lok Sabha Polls 2024: CMs of northeastern states cast their votes


Chief Ministers of Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim cast their votes in the first phase of the 7 phase 18th Lok Sabha elections.

Arunachal Chief Minister Pema Khandu cast his vote at a polling station in Tawang.

After casting his vote, CM Khandu once again reiterated that “Kamal ka Phool” is sure to bloom in Arunachal Pradesh and the BJP will win both Lok Sabha seats.

Speaking to media, CM Khandu said, “Today is the mega festival of democracy. I expect that the number of voters this year will surpass the number of voters in 2019. BJP is going to make history in the state. Besides winning all 60 assembly seats, we will win both Lok Sabha seats- Arunachal East and Arunachal West.”

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma cast his vote at a polling booth in the Walbakgre polling station in Tura.

At 6:30 am, Sangma, who is the president of the state’s ruling National People’s Party (NPP), reached the Walbakgre polling station in Tura and stood in a queue for more than two hours. He himself drove to the polling station.

He appealed to people to vote in large numbers and exercise their democratic rights.

After casting his vote, Sangma said, “I was in the line for more than two hours. There are many more people still there behind me. It’s good to see the turnout. It’s a healthy democratic practice. I once again urge everybody to kindly come out and cast their votes in this election.”

Polling is underway in Meghalaya’s two Lok Sabha seats – Tura and Shillong.

Manipur Chief Minister N. Biren Singh cast his vote at a polling booth in Luwangsangbam Mamang Leikai, in Imphal East.

After casting his vote, CM N Biren Singh exuded confidence about the party’s victory in both Parliamentary seats- Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur.

It may be mentioned here that the BJP did not field any candidate for Outer Manipur and extended support to Naga People’s Front (NPF) candidate K Timothy Zimik.

CM N Biren Singh said, “I am confident that our candidate Thounaojam Basanta Kr Singh in Inner Manipur and K Timothy Zimik in Outer Manipur will surely win.”

The Chief Minister also urged everyone to vote for these two candidates to save the integrity and indigenous people of the state and to bring peace to the state at the earliest.

Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang cast his vote at a polling station in Gangtok

Speaking to media, CM Tamang exuded confidence about Sikkim Krantikari Morcha’s victory as it has won the hearts of the people of the state over the last 5 years.

“Our party has done the work that could not be done by the previous government in the last 25 years. In the last 5 years, our party workers have won the hearts of the people. We are sure that our party will win 32 out of 32 Assembly seats.”

Mizoram Chief Minister Lalduhoma cast his vote at a polling booth in Chawlhhmun, Aizawl.

Tripura Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha cast his vote at a polling booth in Agartala.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio cast his vote for the 18th Lok Sabha Polls results of which will be declared on June 4.