Lok Sabha Election 2024: Phase 1 voting in Assam tomorrow


As Assam gears up for the first phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, scheduled for tomorrow a total of 8,647,869 electors will play a pivotal role in deciding the fate of 35 candidates  vying for seats in five constituencies.

Assam’s electoral journey unfolds across three phases: April 19, April 26, and May 7. 

The battleground for the 1st phase encompasses five crucial Lok Sabha constituencies – Kaziranga, Jorhat, Dibrugarh, Lakhimpur, and Sonitpur. Among these, Kaziranga stands out as the largest constituency in terms of the electorate, boasting over 20 lakh eligible voters. The diversity of issues and concerns within Kaziranga mirrors the broader spectrum of challenges and aspirations across the state.

Among the electorate, 4,282,887 are male, 4,364,859 are female, and 123 are third-gender voters, reflecting a diverse participation in the electoral process across the state. 

With 35 candidates in the fray, representing a spectrum of political ideologies and affiliations, voters are faced with a myriad of choices. The ballot box will not only determine the fate of individual candidates but will also shape the political landscape of Assam for years to come.

Earlier on Wednesday, The vibrant political landscape of Assam has been abuzz with rallies, roadshows, and door-to-door campaigns as candidates from various parties made their final appeals to the electorate.

For the smooth conduct of the first phase of Lok Sabha elections in five parliamentary constituencies in Assam, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), has completed all necessary arrangements to conduct the polls in a free, fair, safe, and peaceful manner.

The ECI has already appointed Election Observers (EO) to keep a strong vigil on law and order, and expenditure among others.

Live monitoring and webcasting have been arranged by the CEO, Assam for monitoring of poll day proceedings as per ECI’s direction.

The total number of polling stations for the first phase of the LS polls in Assam is 10,001, out of which, 92 are model polling stations, 11 are Persons with Disabilities (PwDs) managed polling stations, and 752 are female-managed polling stations.

During these Lok Sabha elections, a total of 40,004 polling and presiding officers will be engaged and a total of 10,001 Ballot Units (BUs), 10,001 Control Units (CUs), and 10,001 Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs) will be used.

The voting process will commence at 7 am and conclude at 5 pm, with a mock poll conducted 90 minutes prior to the start. Furthermore, the postal ballot facility has been extended to senior citizens above 85 years, PwDs, and essential service personnel to ensure inclusivity in the electoral process.

Reflecting on the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured victory in nine out of the 14 seats in Assam, underlining its political dominance in the region. The Congress managed to clinch three seats, while the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) secured one seat. The BJP’s impressive vote share of 36 percent cemented its position as a formidable political force in the state.

As Assam braces for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, a diverse array of political parties and alliances have thrown their hats into the electoral arena. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), spearheaded by the BJP, faces off against the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance, led by the Indian National Congress and supported by regional players like the Assam Jatiya Parishad and others.

In this electoral spectacle, leaders like Sarbananda Sonowal of the BJP and Gourav Gogoi of the Indian National Congress emerge as pivotal figures rallying support for their respective alliances. As constituencies prepare to exercise their democratic right, the stage is set for a keenly contested electoral battle that will shape the political landscape of Assam and echo across the corridors of power in New Delhi.