Kuladhar Saikia elected Asom Sahitya Sabha president; Mrinalini Devi to be vice-president


GUWAHATI, Jan 2: Former Assam DGP Kuladhar Saikia, who had recently super annuated from service, has been elected president of the Asom Sahitya Sabha.

Saikia, a noted litterateur, secured 269 votes during counting of votes held at Hojai during the executive meeting of the literary body today. Prahlad Tasa, his nearest competitor, polled 88 votes.

There were seven candidates in the fray for the post of president.

Kuladhar Saikia will be the 103rd president of the apex literary body.

On the other hand, Mrinalini Devi was elected vice-president securing 308 votes. Dr Basanta Kumar Sarma came second securing 152 votes while Padumi Gogoi and Rati Mohan Nath secured 96 and 63 votes respectively.

Meanwhile, Jadhab Chandra Sharma was elected the new general secretary of the Asom Sahitya Sabha after edging out Debojit Bora by a margin of 68 votes. While Jadhab Chandra Sharma secured 323 votes, Bora polled 255 votes.