IPL 2024 Winner – KKR: Journey from starting to winning TATA IPL final match


Kolkata Knight Riders lifted their third trophy in the Indian Premier League with a crushing eight-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in a completely one-sided final here on Sunday.

entakesh Iyer slammed a phenomenal half-century, while all-rounder Andre Russell clinched three crucial wickets in the IPL 2024 final game as Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets. This is their third IPL win, and it came after 10 years as last time they won under Gautam Gambhir’s captaincy during IPL 2014. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s decision to bat first after winning the toss didn’t go as per the plans as the Pat Cummins-led side was all-out on a low of 113 runs. Shreyas Iyer-led Kolkata Knight Riders has a low target of 114 runs to win the IPL 2024 trophy.  

This is the lowest total in IPL finals history. Earlier, Chennai Super Kings scored 125/9 against Mumbai Indians in 2013.

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the final toss of IPL 2024 and their captain Pat Cummins chose to bat first. Kolkata Knight Riders captain Shreyas Iyer was not upset after losing the toss as he anyway wanted to bowl first. 

Shreyas Iyer-led Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is ready for the final battle against Pat Cummins-led Sunrisers Hyderabad as the top two teams of the IPL 2024 face each other for the final game at the grand MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. The two captains triumphed over multiple challengers during their journey towards the top and will put their best foot forward to lift the shining IPL 2024 trophy. 

KKR vs SRH Match Award Winners

CategoryPlayerStatsPrize Money
Player of the MatchMitchell Starc2/14(3)5 Lakh
Green Dot Balls of The Match Harshit Rana13 Dot Balls1 Lakh
Ultimate Fantasy Player of the MatchMitchell Starc841 Lakh
Super Sixes of the Match AwardVenkatesh Uyer3 sixes1 Lakh
On The Go Fours In The MatchRahmanullah Gurbaz5 fours1 Lakh
Electric Striker of the MatchVenkatesh Iyer200.00 SR1 Lakh

IPL 2024 Final: KKR vs SRH Scorecard

IPL Final 2024
Total: 113/10Total: 114-2
RR: 6.17RR: 11.06
Pat Cummins: 24(19)
Aiden Markram: 20(23)
Venkatesh Iyer: 52(26)
Rahmanullah Gurbaz: 39(32)
Andre Russell: 3/19(2.3)
Mitchell Starc 2/14(3):
Shahbaz Ahmed: 1/22(2.3)
Pat Cummins: 1/18(2)

KKR Journey

Under the guidance of head coach Chandrakant Pandit, mentorship of Gautam Gambhir, and the leadership of captain Shreyas Iyer, KKR’s journey to the IPL 2024 final has been remarkable. Dominating the league stage, they topped the table with an impressive 20 points and a significant Net Run Rate (NRR) of +1.428.

In Qualifier 1 at the Narendra Modi Stadium, they proved their worth against Hyderabad. Led by an exceptional performance from Mitchell Starc, KKR restricted the Pat Cummins-led side to a modest 159 in 19.3 overs. The target was chased, as KKR secured victory with eight wickets in hand and 38 balls to spare. Key players such as Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, and Varun Chakravarthy have been in outstanding form, bolstered by the resurgence of Starc and a brilliant strategy by Shreyas Iyer, making KKR the favourites heading into the final.

In the final Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) bowlers dismantled the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) lineup, restricting them to a record low score of 113. Venkatesh Iyer’s unbeaten 52 off 26 balls proved instrumental in securing KKR’s third Indian Premier League (IPL) title. SRH’s aggressive batting approach backfired on the grandest stage. Mitchell Starc claimed two of the three wickets that SRH lost in the powerplay. SRH suffered their fourth setback in the 10th over, followed by Andre Russell’s crucial dismissal of Aiden Markram in the 11th.

IPL 2024 Final Season Awards

CategoryPlayer/WinnerStatsPrize Money
Winner AwardKKR20 Crores
Runner-up AwardSRH12.5 Crore
Electric Striker of The SeasonJake Fraser 234.04 SR10 Lakhs
Ultimate Fantasy Player of the SeasonSunil Narine1,305 Fantasy Points10 Lakhs
Ultimate Most Sixes of the seasonAbhishek Sharma42 Sixes10 Lakhs
Most 4s of The seasonTravis head64 fours10 Lakhs
Catch Of the Season AwardsRamandeep Singh10 Lakhs
Fair Play AwardSunrisers Hyderbad10 Lakhs
Purple CapHarshal Patel24 Wickets10 Lakhs
Orange CapVirat Kohli741 Runs10 Lakhs
Most Valuable PlayerSunil Narine435 MVP Points| 488 runs| Strike Rate: 180.74| 17 wickets| Economy Rate: 6.6910 Lakhs
Pitch And GroundJaganmohan Rao50 Lakhs