IPL 2024: Rajasthan Royals retains Assam’s Riyan Parag


Royals Sports Group-owned franchise Rajasthan Royals (RR) announced a list of 17 retained players ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 Auction.

The list of retained players include Assam all-rounder Riyan Parag who was in splendid form in the recently concluded Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023.

During the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023, the Assam skipper created a new world record in T20 cricket as he became the first player to score seven consecutive centuries in T20 cricket.

Here’s the list of players retained and released by RR ahead of IPL 2024:

Rajasthan Royals Retained Players:

Sanju Samson (c), Jos Buttler, Shimron Hetmyer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Donovan Ferreira, Kunal Rathore, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Sen, Navdeep Saini, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Sharma, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa, Avesh Khan (from LSG).

Rajasthan Royals Released Players:

Joe Root, Abdul Basith, Jason Holder, Akash Vashisht, Kuldip Yadav, Obed McCoy, Murugan Ashwin, KC Cariappa, KM Asif.

The IPL 2024 auction is scheduled to take place at the Coca-Cola Arena in Dubai on December 19. This will be the first time that the auction will be held outside India.

Each team will have a budget of Rs 100 crore, an increase from the previous year’s Rs 95 crore.

The purse remaining for the RR is Rs 14.5 crore and they have nine slots which include three overseas to fill.

This will be the third and the final year of the three-year contract for each player and a mega-auction is expected next year.