India-Pakistan clash expected at ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, group announced


Guwahati: Once again, the biggest clash of cricket will be on offer in the ICC T20 World Cup as Virat Kohli’s India and Babar Azam’s Pakistan have been clubbed together in the same group 2.

The other big team in the group is Kane Williamson’s New Zealand.

Round 1 (Qualifying stage):

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12s (Final round):

Group 1: Australia, England, South Africa, West Indies, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1, A2

The groups, selected on the basis of team rankings as of 20 March 2021, see defending champions the West Indies pooled along with former champions England, Australia and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 12s, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them.

Group 2 will comprise former champions India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1. Eight teams will contest the first round including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia join Sri Lanka in Group A, whilst Oman, PNG and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B.