India announce squad for T20 World Cup


Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team in the upcoming Men’s T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies. Hardik Pandya has been named vice-captain. Yuzvendra Chahal returns to the squad while K.L. Rahul has missed the cut.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

Rinku Singh and Shubman Gill are travelling reserves. Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant are the two keeper-batters in the squad.

The highly anticipated India-Pakistan match in the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled for June 9 at Eisenhower Park, located in New York. India’s group stage journey kicks off with three matches in New York, followed by its fourth fixture in Florida.

England is the defending champion, having beaten Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup final in Melbourne. 


Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal