ICC World Cup 2023, Match 17: India vs Bangladesh


Team India will lock horns with Bangladesh in match no. 17 of the World Cup 2023 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Thursday (October 19). The hosts are on a mission to win the trophy at home and each player in the squad is making sure they are giving their best every time the Men in Blue step on the field. The conditions in Pune are expected to support spinners which means Ravichandran Ashwin could make the cut in place of Shardul Thakur.

On the other hand, Bangladesh have won one and lost one contest so far. The third game will be their biggest test so far as Rohit Sharma’s team are breathing fire every department at the moment. Shakib Al Hasan will have to give their level best to get the win.

It’s a batter’s paradise in Pune. While pacers may enjoy some seam and swing early on, they will need to bowl precise lines and length to contain batters who may seek to exploit the track’s batting inclination. Teams who win the toss typically choose to bowl, with a first-inning score of 288 on average.

Seven ODIs have been played so far at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. India set the highest score at the stadium in 2021 when the Men in Blue scored 356/7 against England. Virat Kohli has scored 448 runs in 7 innings, including 2 hundreds and 3 fifties.

The match will start from 2:00 pm and the toss is scheduled at 1:30 pm.

India World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.

Bangladesh World Cup squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Kumer Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.