Former PMs Chaudhary Charan Singh, Narsimha Rao and agronomist MS Swaminathan to be awarded Bharat Ratna


Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday announced that former Prime Ministers Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh and agronomist MS Swaminathan will be conferred with the Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian honour of the country.

Making the announcement for the Bharat Ratna to Chaudhary Charan Singh, PM Modi wrote, “हमारी सरकार का यह सौभाग्य है कि देश के पूर्व प्रधानमंत्री चौधरी चरण सिंह जी को भारत रत्न से सम्मानित किया जा रहा है। यह सम्मान देश के लिए उनके अतुलनीय योगदान को समर्पित है। उन्होंने किसानों के अधिकार और उनके कल्याण के लिए अपना पूरा जीवन समर्पित कर दिया था। उत्तर प्रदेश के मुख्यमंत्री रहे हों या देश के गृहमंत्री और यहां तक कि एक विधायक के रूप में भी, उन्होंने हमेशा राष्ट्र निर्माण को गति प्रदान की। वे आपातकाल के विरोध में भी डटकर खड़े रहे। हमारे किसान भाई-बहनों के लिए उनका समर्पण भाव और इमरजेंसी के दौरान लोकतंत्र के लिए उनकी प्रतिबद्धता पूरे देश को प्रेरित करने वाली है।”

In another tweet PM Modi wrote, “Delighted to share that our former Prime Minister, Shri PV Narasimha Rao Garu, will be honoured with the Bharat Ratna. As a distinguished scholar and statesman, Narasimha Rao Garu served India extensively in various capacities. He is equally remembered for the work he did as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Union Minister, and as a Member of Parliament and Legislative Assembly for many years. His visionary leadership was instrumental in making India economically advanced, laying a solid foundation for the country’s prosperity and growth. Narasimha Rao Garu’s tenure as Prime Minister was marked by significant measures that opened India to global markets, fostering a new era of economic development. Furthermore, his contributions to India’s foreign policy, language and education sectors underscore his multifaceted legacy as a leader who not only steered India through critical transformations but also enriched its cultural and intellectual heritage.”

For agronomist  MS Swaminathan, PM Modi wrote, “It is a matter of immense joy that the Government of India is conferring the Bharat Ratna on Dr. MS Swaminathan Ji, in recognition of his monumental contributions to our nation in agriculture and farmers’ welfare. He played a pivotal role in helping India achieve self-reliance in agriculture during challenging times and made outstanding efforts towards modernizing Indian agriculture. We also recognise his invaluable work as an innovator and mentor and encouraging learning and research among several students. Dr. Swaminathan’s visionary leadership has not only transformed Indian agriculture but also ensured the nation’s food security and prosperity. He was someone I knew closely and l always valued his insights and inputs.”

Two of the awardees, Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, come from non-BJP backgrounds, indicating Prime Minister Modi’s belief in conferring national honors in a very party agnostic manner.

Two out of three awardees, Narasimha Rao and Dr. MS Swaminathan, hail from South India, showing that the Prime Minister values the contribution and expertise from all corners of the country.

Talking about Chaudhary Charan Singh, PM Modi said that this honor is dedicated to his incomparable contribution to the country.