Five Assam colleges will get university status in next two years: CM Sarma


Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarama on Saturday announced that five colleges in Assam will be given the status of university in the next two years.

While addressing the inaugural session of the North-East education conclave today in Guwahati CM Sarma said that five colleges including the autonomous college of Lakhimpur, Nagaon College, and JB Law College, Jorhat along with Sibsagar College and Handique College will be given the status of university in the next two years.

When it comes to implementation of the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020, it is easy to introduce the policy in states like Lucknow and Delhi whereas it is a challenge in the North-Eastern states as there are as many as 180 languages in these states, the Assam CM said.

CM Sarma said that Assam has already achieved some progress in the implementation of NEP 2020.

“A high-level committee has been formed in the state for the implementation of the policy and the draft is ready. “We have created a policy for online teacher transfer, recruitment,” he added.

In the next cabinet, the state will divide the education system the way it has been envisaged in the policy. The state is also going ahead in setting up new universities, CM Sarma said.

“We have already shortlisted that our autonomous colleges of Lakhimpur, Nagaon, Jorhat (JB law college), along with Sibsagar college and Handique college will be given the status of university in the next two years,” he said.

The central government plays a huge role in the implementation of NEP 2020 in North-Eastern region, he said.

Union education minister Dharmendra Pradhan along with others also addressed the inaugural session of the conclave, today.

In October, Assam got approval from the National Medical Commission (NMC) to start the state’s eighth medical college in Lakhimpur with MBBS seats increasing to 1,100.