First phase of 7th Economic Census launched in Manipur


Imphal: The first phase of the seventh Economic Census for six valley districts in Manipur has been started, officials said on Saturday.

The census, which is being conducted by the Union Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation (MoSPI) will cover all establishments in the districts and the information collected through this survey will help the government for socio-economic developmental planning at state and district levels, the officials said.

The first phase will cover six districts – Imphal East and West, Bishnupur, Thoubal, Kakching and Jiribam.

“The first phase of 7th Economic Census has been launched on Friday and the time frame of the survey will be three months. A provisional result will be declared after the completion,” Imphal East district, Deputy Commissioner Rangitabali Waikhom told reporters at a programme on Friday.

She also urged people to provide correct data.

Bishnupur district, Deputy Commissioner Neeta Arambam appealed to people “not to feel shy” in providing information and assured citizens that the data will be kept “confidential”.

Started in 1977, only six economic censuses have been done so far due to massive work involving in-depth survey and data compilation.

The Economic Census will provide an insight into geographical spread or clusters of economic activities, ownership pattern and engagement of persons in all economic establishments in the state.

The MoSPI has roped in CSC e-Governance Services India Limited for conducting the economic census, a press release issued by the Directorate of Economics and Statistics of Manipur said, adding that the census is a “complete count of all establishments/units” located within the geographical boundaries of the districts.

During the survey, enumerators will visit door to door to collect information, and the MOSPI along with the regional centre of National Statistical Office and the directorate would supervise the census.

The second phase of the survey will begin on September 9 for the remaining hill districts. (PTI)