BJP to support 14 independent candidates in BTC election: Ranjeet Dass


Guwahati: The election campaign for the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election is in full swing. In parallel, the equation for the formation of the government has also begun. The BJP has launched a new political equation to take over the reins from Hagrama Mohilary, who has been in power for the past 17 years. As part of this, state BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass announced on Tuesday that the ruling party will support independent candidates in 14 BTC constituencies.

Talking to media the state BJP president Dass said, “We have fielded candidates in 26 BTC constituencies. We will provide support to 14 independent candidates. We are already supporting one from Srirampur and the names of the independent candidates we will support in the other 13 constituencies will be officially announced.”

Reacting to the break-up of the alliance with the Hagrama Mohilary-led BPF, the BJP president said that the BJP would field candidates in all 12 constituencies of BTAD in the forthcoming Assam Assembly elections. There is no way we will continue the alliance with BPF said Dass.

Ranjeet Dass also remarked that doors for Hagrama will remain closed till he is the president. He also reiterated that the the BPF chief did not practice the religion of friendship even though they were in the alliance. The BJP has announced its break-up with the BPF citing various issues like corruption and low development.   

“We have only one MCLA in BTC. There are three BPF ministers in Assam government. We urged Hagrama to appoint the MCLA as an executive member but he refused to do so. Moreover, they fielded candidates for the panchayat elections without consulting us.  They have also betrayed us in the assembly elections. It is a shame to be associated with such a traitor,” added Ranjeet Kumar Dass.