BJP Sweeps Tripura Civic Elections, Wins 217 Of 222 Seats


Guwahati: The BJP has swept the civic polls in Tripura — held amid bitter feud with the Trinamool Congress — bagging 217 of 222 seats on which elections were held on November 25.

The CPM has won three seats, the Trinamool and TIPRA Motha one seat each each even after high voltage campaign.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won all 51 wards of Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) polls.

The counting of votes for a total of 222 seats in the AMC and Nagar Panchayats elections was held today.

The voting for the Urban Local Bodies elections in Tripura were held on 25 November amid poll-related violence with nearly 75 per cent voter turnout.

There were a total of 334 seats and notably the ruling BJP has already won 112 seats uncontested as no other party filed a candidate.

The elections were held in 13 Urban Local Bodies including AMC out of 20 ULBs.

Meanwhile, BJP captures all 20 urban bodies and for the first time. AITMC has emerged as a strong opposition in the polls.

The elections were held in the remaining 222 seats spread across 13 ULBs including AMC in which as many as 785 contestants were in the fray after 36 candidates withdrew their nominations.