BJP leads NDA to majority mark in Assam


GUWAHATI: The BJP-led alliance is leading in 78 seats, making its way to the majority mark of 64 out of 126 assembly constituencies. The Congress’ grand alliance is ahead in 41 seats, according to initial trends.

Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora is trailing in Gohpur. Leader of opposition Debabrata Saikia, ministers and senior BPF leaders Pramila rani Brahma and Chandan Brahma are also trailing in Nazira, Kokrajhar East and Sidli respectively.

Meanwhile, Raijor Dal candidate and jailed activist Akhil Gogoi is leading in Sivasagar.