BJP Announces Candidates List For Assam By-polls


Guwahati: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced the names of its candidates for the three constituencies for the upcoming Assam assembly by-polls slated on October 30.

In the three constituencies of Bhabanipur, Mariani and Thowra, the saffron party did not take any chances but projected the candidates who had won the 2021 state polls earlier in May but later left their respective parties to join BJP.

In Bhabanipur, BJP has nominated Phanidhar Talukdar who left All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) to join BJP recently. Similarly, in Mariani and Thowra also, BJP has projected Rupjyoti Kurmi and Sushanta Borgohain who had won the last polls from Congress.

Out of the five seats going to polls on October 30, BJP’s ally United People’s Party, Liberal (UPPL) has given their candidates in two other seats.

The party nominated Jiran Basumatary for Gossaigaon and Jolen Daimary for Tamulpur, UPPL working president Rwngwra Narzary.