BJP ally UPPL announces candidates for Assam assembly by-polls


Guwahati:  The United People’s Party, Liberal (UPPL), an ally of the ruling BJP in Assam, on Sunday announced the list of candidates for the October 30 by-elections in Gossaigaon and Tamulpur assembly constituencies.

The party nominated Jiran Basumatary for Gossaigaon and Jolen Daimary for Tamulpur, UPPL working president Rwngwra Narzary said at a press conference.

While Daimary is a new face, Basumatary is a member of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC), an autonomous council for the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR).

Narzary said the candidates were selected in consultation with Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and state BJP president Bhabesh Kalita.

By-polls to Gossaigaon and Tamulpur constituencies in BTR were necessitated by the death of sitting MLAs Majendra Narzary and Leho Ram Boro respectively due to Covid-19. PTI