Bhupen Kumar Borah appointed APCC president


GUWAHATI: The All India Congress Committee has finally resolved the leadership crisis in Assam by appointing senior leader Bhupen Kumar Borah as the new Assam Pradesh Congress Committee president. A press release from AICC confirms Borah’s appointment with immediate effect.

The AICC also appointed three Working Presidents viz. Rana Goswami, Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha and Jakir Hussain Sikdar.

Borah is the National Secretary of Indian National Congress and has been twice elected to the state assembly from Bihupuria on Congress ticket.

Bhupen Borah served as former General Secretary of the Dibrugarah University students’ union and went on to become the president of Assam Pradesh Youth Congress.

Ripun Borah, the outgoing APCC president had resigned after the grand old party’s poor performance in the recently-held Assam Legislative Assembly Elections.