Assam polls: 1106 booths designated for 4 assembly seats across Kamrup district


Guwahati: The Kamrup district administration has taken up all necessary measures to conduct elections in the four constituencies of Boko, Palasbari, Chaygaon and Hajo on April 6.

The District Commissioners have constituted various cells for smooth conduct of the electoral process. The Additional DC’s have been given the responsibility of nodal officers.

Meanwhile, training of presiding and polling officers is simultaneously underway.

On February 28, a training course was conducted at Dakshin Kamrup College, Mirza for election officers. On March 8, 14, 23, and 24, the college will again conduct training session for the poll officers.

The district administration has appointed a total of 1,106 presiding officers, while 3,318 has been appointed as first, second and third polling officers. With 887 main polling stations and 219 additional polling stations, the total number of polling stations in the district stands at 1106.

Flying squad, static surveillance, and video surveillance Teams for the four constituencies under the Kamrup district are already on high alert to ensure that the election rules are not violated in different parts of the district.