Assam panchayat polls on Dec 5 & 9, counting on Dec 12


The much-anticipated panchayat polls in Assam will be held in two phases — on Dec 5 & 9 — while counting of votes will take place on Dec 12. This was announced by Assam State Election Commissioner HN Bora in Guwahati today (Nov 5).

While 16 districts will go to polls in the first phase on Dec 5, electorate in 10 districts will be able to exercise their franchise in the grassroots-level elections on Dec 9.

Voting in the first phase on Dec 5 will be held in Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Sivasagar, Charaideo, Jorhat, Majuli, Golaghat, Nagaon, Dhemaji, Lakhimpur, Biswanath, Sonitpur, Darrang, Morigaon, Kamrup (Metro) & Kamrup districts. On the other hand, 10 districts — Nalbari, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Dhubri, South Salmara Mankachar, Goalpara, Cachar, Hailakandi, Karimganj and Hojai — will go to polls in the second phase, the State Election Commissioner announced.

A total of 1,56,41,456 voters will be eligible to exercise their franchise in the hustings as the State election commission plans to conduct the polls in a total of 23,505 polling stations spread across the State. 8,243 of them have been graded as sensitive while 3,665 are very sensitive, Bora added.

The State Election Commissioner also announced that the panchayat polls will be conducted as per the new rules and candidates intending to contest in the elections will have to fulfill the new eligibility criteria.