Assam elections: Two AGP candidates file nominations at Abhayapuri


GUWAHATI: Bhupen Ray and Purnendu Banikya, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) candidates for Abhayapuri North and Abhayapuri South seats respectively filed their nomination papers on Monday for the upcoming Assam assembly polls. The candidates filed their nominations at the office of North Salmara sub-divisional officer (SDO) at Abhayapuri.

Before submitting their nomination papers, the candidates led a huge road show with party workers from both the constituencies.

“I am a candidate of AGP-BJP alliance for the upcoming election. I seek blessings from everyone,” said Bhupen Ray who is contesting for the Abhayapuri North constituency.

In 2016 assembly polls, Ray was defeated by Congress candidate Abdul Hai Nagori with a margin of 2,143 votes. While Abdul Hai Nagori of Congress gained 48,354 votes, Bhupen Ray netted 46,211 votes.

Ray, a senior leader of the AGP was elected from this seat in 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2011.

On the other hand, AGP candidate for Abhayapuri South, Purnendu Banikya expressed his confidence over a swift victory.

“The love of the people gives me confidence that I will definitely win,” said Banikya.

The Abhayapuri South seat which is reserved for the scheduled caste (SC) is currently represented by All India United Democratic Front’s (AIUDF) Ananta Kumar Malo.

In 2016, Malo defeated late minister Chandan Kumar Sarkar of Congress with a margin of only 191 votes. While Malo got mandate with 51,525 votes, Chandan Kumar Sarkar got 51,334 votes. Rabin Banikya of AGP remained in the third position with 50,957 votes.

The Congress-led grand alliance is yet to announce their candidates for these two seats which will go to polls on April 6 in the third phase.

The BJP left all the three constituencies in Bongaigaon district to its ally Asom Gana Parishad.

The AGP has fielded minister Phani Bhushan Choudhury for the Bongaigaon seat.