Assam elections: Former minister Gautam Bora resigns from Congress


GUWAHATI: After being denied ticket from Batadrava in the assembly elections, former Assam minister and four-time MLA Gautam Bora resigned from the Congress party on Friday.

In the resignation letter, addressed to the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora, the former Batadrava MLA resigned from the primary membership and all the other posts of the Indian National Congress.

Though he has not cited about the reasons for quitting the grand old party, the reasons can be attributed to his discontent of not getting the party ticket.

Congress fielded Shibamani Bora in Batadrava against BJP MLA Angoorlata Deka.

In 2016, Angoorlata Deka defeated Gautam Bora with a margin of 5,885. While Angoorlata netted 46,343 votes, Gautam Bora got 40,458 votes.

Bora won the 2011 election against AIUDF candidate Matiur Rahman with a narrow margin of 131 votes.  Congress candidate Gautam Bora was elected to the assembly with a mandate of 40,950 votes. On the other hand, AIUDF’s Matiur Rahman got 40, 819 votes.