Assam Elections: Fate of 345 candidates to be sealed on 1 April


Guwahati:  The campaign for the second phase of Assam Legislative Assembly Election came to an end on Tuesday with political parties putting an all-out effort to woo the voters. The high-voltage campaign saw bigwigs from Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress touring the state several times in the past week.

The voting for phase-2 will take place tomorrow, i.e. April 1. The polling will start at 7 am and will conclude at 6 pm. There are 73, 44,631 electors eligible to vote and 345 candidates in fray whose fate will be sealed on Thursday.

The prominent candidates contesting in the second phase are BJP ministers Parimal Suklabaidya (Dholai), Bhabesh Kalita (Rangia), Pijush Hazarika (Jagiroad) and Deputy Speaker Aminul Haque Laskar (Sonai).

Former Congress minister Gautam Roy who joined the saffron party is contesting from Katigorah on a BJP ticket while his son Rahul Roy and daughter-in-law Daisy Roy are fighting as independents from Udharbond and Algapur respectively.

Former Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul, who resigned from the BJP after he was denied a party ticket, is contesting as an independent from Silchar. Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary (Paneri) and former Asam Sahitya Sabha President Paramananda Rajbongshi (Sipajhar) are contesting as BJP candidates and BPF Minister Rihon Daimary is contesting from Udalguri in the second phase.

The Election Commission has set up 10,592 polling stations for the second phase elections. In view of the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic the EC has directed that the voters are required to wear masks, maintain social distancing, use hand gloves and sanitizer while voting. The election officials will also be given a COVID-19 kit to conduct the election smoothly.

Thermal scanning of all persons will be carried out before allowing them to enter inside the EVM room. The Election Commission has completed all preparations for voting.

Assam Phase-2 Election 2021 List of Constituencies: 

As many as 39 constituencies are going to polls in Phase-2. All the 39 constituencies are spread over 13 districts of the Barak Valley, three hill districts, and parts of central and lower Assam. The Barak Valley has 15 seats in the 126-member state assembly.

Ratabari (SC)                                                           Patherkandi
Karimganj North                                                     Karimganj South
Badarpur                                                                 Hailakandi
Katlicherra                                                               Algapur
Silchar                                                                     Sonai
Dholai (SC)                                                              Udharbond
Lakhipur                                                                  Barkhola
Katigorah                                                                Haflong (ST)
Bokajan (ST)                                                            Howraghat (ST)
Diphu (ST)                                                               Baithalangso (ST)
Kamalpur                                                                Rangiya
Nalbari                                                                    Panery (ST)
Udalguri (ST)                                                           Majbat
Kalaigaon                                                                Sipajhar
Mangaldoi (SC)                                                       Dalgaon
Jagiroad (SC)                                                           Marigaon
Laharighat                                                               Raha (SC)
Nowgong                                                                Barhampur
Jamunamukh                                                           Hojai

Over the last few days, the seats going to polls in this phase witnessed election rallies by Prime Minister Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, and BJP chief JP Nadda. From the Congress’ side, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra were among top leaders who tried to woo voters.

In the first phase, polling had taken place in 47 seats on March 27.