Assam Cabinets important decission on Saturday


Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal on Saturday chaired a meeting of the Assam Council of Ministers (CoM) in Guwahati. The  Assam government took a number of important decision and approvals in the meetings. 

In this meeting, the Council of Ministers discussed major rules and regulations and acts that will be implemented soon.  The meeting was attended by Agriculture, Horticulture Minister Atul Bora, Fisheries, Excise, Environment & Forest Parimal Suklabaidya, Commerce and Industry, Transport Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary, Guwahati Development Department Siddartha Bhattacharya, Social Welfare and Soil Conservation Pramila Rani Brahma and other Cabinet Ministers. 

The CoM approved the creation of Bodoland Administrative Staff College. It also approved rules made for service conditions and eligibility for members & member-secretaries of the Assam Pollution Control Board.

The CoM approved the regularisation of 580 High School teachers.

The CoM approved the amendment of the Assam Municipal Board Act to provide for 18 months (in place of 12 months) for conducting elections.

The CoM allotted 239 bighas of land to Srimanta Sankardev University at Hatichung, Nagaon.

The CoM allotted 1 Katha land at Ulubari, Guwahati to the NGO, Dipak Sangha.

The CoM allotted 1 Katha land at Ulubari, Guwahati to the NGO, Dipak Sangha.

The CoM approved service conditions for 101 vocational teachers in 57 schools.

The CoM amended the Guwahati Master Plan 2025 in three places – North Guwahati, Uzanbazar and 6 lane bridge at Bharalumukh.

The CoM allotted 10 bighas of land to the Brahma Kumari Ishwariya Vishwavidyalaya.

The CoM approved the purchase of 8,000 wheelchairs for the conduct of the upcoming general elections. These chairs will be distributed to other departments for use after the elections.

In a major decision, the CoM decided to increase the wage of Tea Garden workers from ₹ 167/day to ₹ 217/day. Further, ₹ 101/day has been agreed for ration, etc.

The CoM directed the concerned minister to take steps for extension of service rules to contractual employees of the P&RD Dept who have completed 10 years of service.

For equal wages of small Tea Garden workers, tahe CoM has constituted a one-man committee under Principal Secretary, Dr. JB Ekka (IAS).