Assam Bypolls: Voting underway in Jania, Sonari, Ratabari, Rangapara


Guwahati: Voting is underway in full swing at four Assembly Constituencies of Assam — Jania, Sonari, Ratabari and Rangapara. The polling started at 7 AM in the morning in these four constituencies. A total of 20 canidadates are in fray for the four assembly seats which got vacated after the Lok Sabha polls as the sitting MLAs got elected as MPs.

Sonari: BJP’s Nabanita Handique has a straight contest with Sushil Kumar Suri of Congress.

Ratabari: Main candidates are Bijoy Malakar of BJP and Keshab Prasad Rajak of Congress.

Rangapara: The fight is between Rajen Borthakur of BJP and Kartik Kurmi of Congress.

Jania: It has the most number of candidates. Total of nine are contesting for the Jania seat. The contest may be triangular between Rafiqul Islam of AIUDF, Towfiqur Rahman of BJP and Samsul Hoque of Congress.