Assam: BJP will win 13 seats in Barak Valley says Ranjeet Kumar Dass


GUWAHATI: The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) will win 13 seats out of the 15 seats in Barak Valley, said Assam BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass who is on a 10-day tour to Barak Valley. Dass will address 11 public gatherings during this trip and will visit the left out constituencies in January next year.

Speaking to News Live the BJP state president said, “I am here on a 10-day tour. In total, there are 15 constituencies in Barak and I think BJP will win at least 13 seats in the upcoming Assam assembly election.”

There are a total of 15 constituencies in Barak Valley of Assam, v.i.z Badarpur, Algapur, Hailakandi, Katlicherra, Karimganj South, Karimganj North, Ratabari, Patharkandi, Katigorah, Dholai, Udharbond, Sonai, Silchar, Barkhola, Lakhipur. The BJP had won 8 seats in the 2016 Assam Legislative Assembly Election.

BJP candidates Kripanath Mallah won from Ratabari constituency, Krishnendu Paul won from Patharkandi constituency, Dilip Kumar Paul won from Silchar constituency, Aminul Haque Laskar won from Sonai constituency, Parimal Suklabaidya won from Dholai constituency, Mihir Kanti Shome won from Udharbond constituency, Kishor Nath won from Barkhola constituency and Amar Chand Jain won from Katigorah constituency in the 2016 elections from Barak Valley.

In the 2019 general election BJP candidates were victorious in both the Karimganj and Silchar seats of Barak Valley. The party managed to win 9 out of the 14 seats in Assam.

Dass stated that in the upcoming Vidhan Sabha election BJP will win 103 seats in Assam. He claimed that 17 more seats will be added with the 87 seats that the BJP already has. Dass confirmed that the alliance between BJP and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) will continue for the upcoming Vidhan Sabha election.

“We have partnership with the UPPL, and so there is no chance of partnership or alliance with the Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF),” said Ranjeet Kumar Dass.

He also said that due to the Congress-AIUDF alliance BJP will win in Golaghat, Nazira, Sibsagar, Titabar, Doom Dooma, Naoboicha constituencies of Upper Assam.