Assam Elections: List of heavyweight candidates in second phase


GUWAHATI: The Second Phase of Assam Assembly Elections is progressing smoothly in 39 Assembly constituencies where the fate of 345 candidates including 26 women candidates will be decided by over 73 lakh voters.

Assam recorded a voter turnout of 38.08 percent till 1.10 pm across 39 constituencies in 13 districts during the second phase of the state assembly polls, as per the Election Commission (EC) data.

The election in the second phase includes 15 assembly seats in the Barak Valley.

A total of 345 candidates in 39 constituencies across 13 districts are in the fray.

The main contest is seen to be between the alliances led by BJP and Congress.

Some of the heavyweight candidates contesting in the second phase of Assam Assembly Elections are:

Parimal Suklabaidya, Dholai constituency.
Bhabesh Kalita, Rangiya constituency.
Pijush Hazarika, Jagiroad constituency.
Aminul Haque Laskar, Sonai constituency.
Sum Ronghang, Diphu constituency.
Rihon Daimary, Udalguri constituency.
Biswajit Daimary, Paneri constituency.
Siddique Ahmed, Lahorighat constituency.
Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha, Karimganj North constituency.
Gautam Roy, Katigorah constituency.

It is to be mentioned that the polling for the third and last phase will be held on April 6. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.