Asia Cup Final 2023: India beats Sri Lanka; crowned champion for 8th time


India defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the final of the Asia Cup 2023 at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo to win the continental championship for a record eighth time on Sunday.

India experimented with Ishan Kishan at the top of the order to make the most of the lowly target on board. Both Shubman Gill and Kishan made light work of the chase and rounded it off in overs after India, powered by Mohammed Siraj, produced a bowling performance for the ages to completely decimate the Sri Lankan batting unit.

It was India’s bowling that dominated the game with Mohammed Siraj bagging 6 wickets for 7 runs – making that the best figure in his ODI career, also made his the first Indian bowler to claim 4 wickets in a single over.

Hardik Pandya claimed three wickets, and Bumrah claimed one.

Rohit Sharma sent Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill to open India’s batting lineup, chasing 51 runs in 300 balls.

Siraj is also the highest wicket-taker in the Asia Cup 2023, on the other hand, Shubman Gill is also the highest run-scorer in the tournament.