Apart from India, These 5 Countries too Celebrate Independence Day on August 15


Guwahati: This year marks the 75th anniversary of India’s Independence. As the nation gears up to celebrate the occasion, it is worth noting that India is not the only country that was liberated on this day. Several other countries share their day of liberation from colonial rule with us. Here’s a look at other countries who share their independence day with India-


Bahrain gained independence from British rule on August 15, 1971, and was one of the first Gulf states to discover oil and build a refinery in 1931. Although Britain and the Ottoman government signed a treaty recognizing the country’s independence in 1913, it still remained under the British administration. In 1971, Bahrain declared its independence and signed a friendship treaty with the British.  August 14 is said to be the actual date of independence, however, the nation recognizes August 15 as its Independence Day.


Celebrated as National Day in Liechtenstein since 1940, it also includes a traditional fireworks ceremony that takes place at 10 pm CEST on the day. August 15 was officially declared a National Holiday by law in 1990 and for two reasons- first, it was already a bank holiday and second, the birthday of the ruling prince in 1940, Prince Franz Jose II was on August 16. Even after his death in 1989, the tradition continued.

North and South Korea

Both countries observe the date as National Liberation Day. The day commemorates the end of Japanese colonial domination over the Korean Peninsula. On 15 August 1945, Japan surrendered, thus ending the Second World War.

The beginning of the Cold War and the presence of Soviet and American troops in the peninsula at the time led to the area being divided into two countries — North and South Korea. Both countries formed independent governments in 1948. The two Koreas continue to mark their day of independence each year on the same day.

Republic of Congo

Also known as the ‘Congolese National Day’, the Republic of the Congo received its complete independence from France in 1960, exactly 80 years after it came under French rule. It was a Marxist-Leninist state from 1969 to 1992 and has had multi-party elections since 1992.